National Curriculum Levels Explained

Bamboozled by National Curriculum levels?

National Curriculum levels can be REALLY confusing, especially if you grew up using A-F grades.

There really is very little help online for Parents and Teachers (as we're sure you have found if you've ended up here).

National Curriculum Levels range from level 1 to level 8, with level 8 the most advanced. Each level is split into sub-levels that are like the old grade system with 'a' as the best, 'b' in the middle and 'c' toward the bottom of that level. So a 5a is better than a 5c, and a 5c is better than a 4a.

The other thing to note is that the levels are the same throughout infant, primary, junior and secondary school (and are used right up to year 9 before switching to GCSEs) - this means that someone on a 3a in year 9 should theoretically have the same ability as someone on a 3a in year 2!

That's all very well, but how is my child DOING?

To figure that out, you need to know what the national average level is for your child's year / term (this is the same across subjects). For that, we've decided to publish a copy of our progression table (which is part of the PupilAsset system) for everyone to see what is going on. The green blocks show the national "average".

Training Dates

In Real Life training with our experienced teams.

To book a session, call us on 01603 631436

PupilAsset MIS Roadshow

Come and see PA MIS LIVE!

See if there are dates in your area or request one.

Training Notes